Comfort and Joy

Two posts in one day?!  That’s right!  I knew you were just sitting around wondering what to do today so here is Blue Soup to the rescue!!

Well, anyway, I know you are all busy busy bees so you will need to make something comforting and joyous this weekend I’m sure.  I thought I’d share with you a few things I made this week that remind me of being a kid.  Even though I still feel like a kid most days, my 23rd birthday is lurking around the corner…I fear my behavior is going to get progressively less mature as I mature in age.  Haha, just kidding.

So I have for you today three recipes, one savory and two sweet.  Sweet always gets top bunk in my house.  First, I’ll start you off with breakfast – a delicious Nutty Honey Smoothie – then lead you into lunch with Daddy Doan’s Pineapple Rice, and finally finish things off with an afternoon snack…a classic…Muddy Buddies (I’ve also heard them called Puppy Chow?  I wouldn’t feed them to dogs though, since there is chocolate in them. Duh.)  Sorry folks, you’re on your own for supper 🙂

The Nutty Honey Smoothie was inspired by my favorite smoothie at a restaurant called Kona in Oxford, Ohio where I went to college.  Their Nutty Buddy smoothie has similar ingredients but I’ve added my own twist to it.  Hope you enjoy it!

Nutty Honey Smoothie

Yields 1-2 servings

Ingredients

1 small ripe banana (optional)

1 c low fat yogurt (I use Stony Field French Vanilla)

3 heaping tbsp creamy peanut butter (I use Peter Pan)

1 heaping tbsp creamy almond butter (I use Maranatha)

splash of vanilla almond milk

1 tbsp wheat germ

2 tbsp honey

handful of toasted pine nuts

3 or 4 ice cubes

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend well!

Now for lunch.  This next recipe is courtesy of my wonderful father, Bill Doan, hence the name Daddy Doan’s Pineapple Rice.  This is a variation of his original recipe.  I love this dish so much because it makes me feel like I’m home again with my folks.  Love them so much.  This rice dish is delicious hot or at room temperature because the pineapple gets warm so you get that tropical sweetness, the saltiness from the soy sauce, the crunch from the vegetables and the creaminess from the rice.  Be prepared to do some chopping but it’s so worth it!

Daddy Doan’s Pineapple Rice

Yields 8-10 servings

Ingredients

1 1/2 c cooked rice (I use brown rice for this but my dad makes it with Nishiki brand sticky white rice which makes the dish even more creamy and wonderful.  But I’m trying to balance out my chocolate and peanut butter addiction in this post!  Whatever rice you use, cook enough to make 8-10 servings.)

4 c shredded cabbage and carrots

1 c chopped kale, stems removed

1 bunch bok choy, white stems removed, roughly chopped

2 small heads broccoli florets

1 bunch broccolini, sliced diagonally

1 red onion, diced

3 tbsp olive oil

3 eggs, lightly beaten

3 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp tamari (I advise to start with this much soy sauce and tamari so you can control the salt factor in this dish.  I tend to like it saltier but start with less than you think you need and taste taste taste.)

1 c fresh pineapple chunks

1/4 c toasted sesame seeds

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a large, deep skillet.  Saute the onions for 3 minutes until softened.  Add the kale, bok choy, broccolis and a few grinds of a salt mill and saute for 5 or 6 minutes more.  Don’t be tempted to over-do it with salt at this point because remember you will add more salt later with the soy sauces.  Add carrots and cabbage, maybe a pinch more salt, and saute for 15-20 minutes until everything wilts down and softens.  Make sure to stir often because you want everything to get coated in the oil and stir fry, not just steam.  Add the cooked rice and stir to combine.  Make a well in the middle of the rice and veg mixture.  Add a touch more oil to the bottom of the pan and pour in the eggs.  Let them sit for a few minutes so they start to cook on the bottom.  Scramble them a bit, keeping them in large pieces.  Once they are mostly cooked through but still a bit runny, stir the eggs in with the rest of the rice mixture.  Turn off the heat and add the soy sauce and tamari.  Taste and adjust.  Add the fresh pineapple and sesame seeds.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

And now….

SNACK TIME!

The best moments of the day often involve snacks, am I wrong?  Well, this snack will either bring back memories of childhood or make you call up your mom and demand, “Why didn’t you ever make this for me???” Either way, be careful where you eat it because all your friends will soon be asking to share.

Muddy Buddies

Yields 9 cups

Ingredients

9 c Rice Chex cereal

1/4  c unsalted butter (4 tbsp or 1/2 a stick)

1/2 c creamy peanut butter

1 c semi-sweet chocolate chips (I bet these would be reallly good with dark chocolate or a semi-sweet and dark blend)

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 c confectioner’s sugar

2, 1 gallon Ziploc bags

2 sheet pans lined with wax paper

Directions

Combine the chocolate chips, butter and peanut butter in a heat-proof bowl and melt over a double boiler.*  Stir often until the mixture is smooth and shiny.  Stir in the vanilla.

Meanwhile, put the cereal in a large bowl.  Pour the chocolate mixture over the cereal and mix carefully until every bit of cereal is well coated in chocolate.  Divide the mixture between the two bags and add 3/4 c of confectioner’s sugar to each bag.  Seal the bags and shake gently but well, making sure the sugar coats everything.  Pour the muddy buddies onto baking sheets lined with wax paper and let cool.  Store in in tightly sealed containers in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

*To create a double boiler, fill a saucepan about 1/4 of the way with water.  Bring the water to a strong simmer and place the heat-proof bowl of chocolate, peanut butter and butter on top of the saucepan.  Make sure the water does not touch the bottom of the bowl.  Also make sure the water doesn’t boil – chocolate burns easily.  Stirring the mixture constantly will also ensure the chocolate doesn’t burn.  Alternatively, you can but the bowl in a microwave.  Microwave for 1 minute.  Stir the mixture and then microwave for increments of 30 seconds, stirring in between, until the mixture is 98% melted.  Then stir vigorously to melt the rest.

Fin.

This entry was published on June 9, 2010 at 3:59 pm. It’s filed under Culinary School, Culinary Student, Smoothie, Snack, Stir Fry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Comfort and Joy

  1. Garrett on said:

    the pineapple rice looked amazing, and kudos on the art direction for the cutting board (the colors were very nicely arranged). And the nutty honey smoothie looks devilishly good…

Leave a Reply

