Farms, Family, Fresh Air – Finally!

This week, I have no recipes, just a slew of pictures.  I spent some much needed time with my family in the country, away from the city this weekend.  It felt like ages since I was last on a farm.  We went to Stone Barns in Tarrytown, the 80-acre farm that belongs to Chef Dan Barber and his family.  They have successfully turned their family property to a working educational, nonprofit institution.  I could have stayed there forever.  The leaves are turning now and they were decorating the restaurant and the outdoor stone patio for a wedding that day.  It was inspiring to see a historical site like that so well maintained and bursting with energy and vitality.  I hope someday I’ll be able to have my own garden.  I can’t imagine the feeling of satisfaction to waltz out the front door and pick my own lettuce for a supper salad.

This entry was published on October 25, 2010 at 8:30 pm. It’s filed under Culinary School, Culinary Student, Farmers Market and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Farms, Family, Fresh Air – Finally!

  1. Ryan Doan on said:

    Cousin, this country visit looks like a little slice of heaven. Megan and I are starting a urban CSA for 2011, we already have about 10 families participating. The land is by the river in Cinci, we have about 2 acres to work with. Nothing like what you saw but a good start. I am also participating in a CSA in Indian hill which has much more land and more in the country. The local food movement will change all of our lives within 5 years.

  2. Ryan, that is so awesome! Please keep me updated as the project progresses and hopefully next time I visit I will be able to come to Cincy and see the land. I didn’t want to come back to the city after having been at the farm. I love New York, but I hate it at the same time. I miss being surrounded by farms. I guess you always want what you don’t have, right?

    I hope you and Megan are well! It makes me happy to hear about how involved you guys are in the community.

Leave a Reply

